Board of Governors

President: Harvey L. Sterns, The University of Akron

Associate Degree Governor:  Jan Abushakrah, Ph.D., Portland Community College

Baccalaureate Degree Governor: Robert Maiden, Alfred University

Vice President & Master's Degree Governor: Robbyn Wacker, University of Northern Colorado

Secretary and Aging Organization Representative: Donna Schafer, National Association of Professional Gerontologists

Treasurer & Employer or Policy Organization: Joseph Ruby, Past President, National Association of Area Agencies on Aging and Direction Home

AGHE/GSA Representative: Donna Weinreich, Western Michigan University

Student Representative : Reginald Mitchell, Jr. University of LaVerne

Representative of Consumers: Jeanette Young, Monroe, Louisiana

At-Large: Aaron Guest, Arizona State University


The AGEC Board of Governors is a diverse group of at least nine (9) members representative of higher education gerontology programs and entities associated with the field of aging. The Board of Governors makes final program accreditation decisions, taking into account the recommendations received from review teams and site visitors in accreditation decisions. Governors serve staggered terms of two or three years. Current Governors are listed below with links to their brief biographies.

Current Governors